the realm of armor....

Status
Not open for further replies.

nebeltex

Feb 3, 2004
texas
papertigerarmaments.com
...here is the armor section. i would like say thanks for the opportunity to moderate this subject. i have been designing paper models off and on for over 20 years. i have quite a few armor designs and i release them for a small sum at papertigerarmaments.com
my primary scale is 1/72 and my works are popular with the war game crowd. they are also a good rainy day project for any paper modeler. i plan to design a little bit of everything but most of my research is in armored vehicles. i was a history major in school. i realize there is a fair sized following for larger scale armored vehicles and there are some classic designs available which look as good as any other modeling medium. i'll be looking for input from those with more experience with the larger scales as i have built few......

Corporal_Trim

Jan 27, 2004
NorCal, USA
nebeltex,

I went to your site and looked around, Nice tanks ! I don't really have any experience building card models of armor subjects, though I've done my fair share in plastic: 1/35, 1/48 and 1/72. Yours look very good indeed in 1/72, and if I were looking for a budget approach to wargaming, why your vehicles would be just the ticket.

For myself, to do a tank or other AFV strictly as paper modeling excercise, my preference would be to build something in a little larger scale (though yours look good enough to tempt me into giving 1/72 a shot). That's probably more a reflection on my card modeling skills than anything else. Doing tiny stuff in cardstock is a little hard for me, I have trouble with 1/43 cars as well. Looks like a lot ot the Polish armor kits are 1/25. Be nice if there was a sort of a 'tweener scale. :wink:

charliec

Jan 18, 2004
Brisbane, Australia
AFV scales

There are a few models in 1/35 - mostly by the Polish publisher "Answer".

My view is that you either lose detail going to 1/35 or wind up with lots