reviving an old G scale project!

Bill Nelson

SML Goose#2 drive.jpg SMLgoose#2-1.jpg SMLgs#2whlhledt.jpg One of my friends is planning a g scale garden railway. Years ago my dad had one, and I started to kitbash a RGS Goose #2 for him.
I used a plastic kit for a Bugatti limosine as a start, scratchbuilt the frame and the grille, a snowplow, and the frieght body. I stuck a couple NWSL magic carpets together to make a power truck.

As I was getting close, I found out that my Dad had dissasembled his outside RR, in favor of an indor #1 gauge tinplate RR using a bunch of stuff he'd collected over the years. He was going to find me a tinplate mechanism for the goose, but it never happened.

As my friend contemplates an outdoor RR, I'm studying the old goose #2, to see what it would take to set it up for battery power and R/C. O studied the G/ O/ &S sub forum, and they don't got much G (I prefer the 1-22.5 Fn3- but the goose was built before I knew about that). In anycase, I'm posting progress, or at least thoughst about progress, on a project that has been dormant for 20 years!

Here is the goose, dusted off! I have loose pieces in a box somewhere, a cow catcher and a snow plow scratched in brass, possibly other stuff, after so much time it is hard to remember.

My Ho stuff is in the logging & Minning area under
icon1.gif
Eastern Tn logging on the DG CC & W RR 1928

there is some narrow gauge stuff in there too

Bill Nelson

Last edited:

Bill Nelson

The Buggatti kit was the only thing I could find with a long enough hood. I had to cut off about eight or ten louvers to get the hood correctly sized. and then had to remove every third louver to get it to look right.