One of the basic fun operations....

Ralph

Remember...it's for fun!
Jun 18, 2002
St. Paul, MN
Visit site
I've seen some threads recently asking about train operations that go beyond simply running freights around the layout in circles. I'm no expert on realistic operations but one that I especially like is "train meets" when one train waits for another to go by before proceeding. This can be accomplished easily with DCC of course, or by wiring a siding as a seperate block from the main line so a train can sit there ("in the hole" as the popular RR phrase describes it) while the mainline is busy.

On my layout (pictured below) I have a siding near a cement plant that a local train can take before the through train headed by a piar of SD9s rolls by. After it passes, the local can continue the work of pulling covered hoppers onto the main and on to their next destination.

Anyone care to describe a favorite operation of their's?
Ralph

Attachments

• cementlocal.jpg
    cementlocal.jpg
    39.6 KB · Views: 296
  • sd9.jpg
    sd9.jpg
    43.8 KB · Views: 288

trainwhiz20

Aug 9, 2004
Tampa, FL
First off Ralph, very nice cement plant. :thumb:

Anyway, "train meetings" are always fun. This task is made so simple with DCC, which is what I have. It's a great operation, just to have one train sit while one passes by. Even mistifying sometimes. *rolls eyes*

Believe it or not, my favorite operation is switching. Not frieghts, but rather, passenger cars. I have a "coach yard" and a GP7 that takes anywhere from 10 minutes to a half-hour to organize a train fresh from the yard, they don't just come onto the tracks via the 0-5-0.;)

It's amazing how much thought goes into the arrangement of a passenger train. Not to mention adding a few express cars in their for fun... hehehe.