Lex's dark arts on designing anime figures

Lex

Dollmaker
Dec 1, 2006
Oxford, UK
--Right, anyone tell me how to insert an image into the post please?... :confused:
----------------------------------------------------------------------
After seeing a rapid increase in the number of designers and great design tutorials recently, Lex was tempted to finally write one himself, for the good of the public mass :rolleyes: Not sure if I'll finish it, plus I'm not good at explaining things, but, I will do my best ^^ --Let's make a start shall we?

==Useless Intro==

Some of you reading this might have felt the same as I had felt half a year ago: seeing so many figurines coming out on the Pepakura website (and else), that I started wondering, I can design aircrafts, spaceships, and all sorts of other stuff, but a mere human figure proved to be an unbeatable obstacle for a designer...wall1 Well, it's not that hard as I found, if there's something we can't do, learn it!

So, this tutorial is for those who:
--Eagerly wants to design a figure. (anime-style)
--Has basic experience on a polygon modeler software (Meta, Sketchup, anything. But not Rhino, haven't figured out how to do it with curves yet...) This is simply to check you don't sit there and wonder how to create a surface... :mrgreen:
--Knows a tiny little bit of photoshop, so that texturing is not a problem. If some reckon that this could be done in Paint that's just fine.
--Manga drawing skills is helpful, but not necessary. (Plenty of tutorials on the net anyway) Either way it's a figure we're designing and the last thing to happen is to get the body proportions wrong...

Um, well, I'm saying this because I don't do things on a step-by-step basis, that's all.

==Useless Intro Ends Here==

1, The Head and the Face