JLG759 Spring 07 KitBuild Challenge

jlg759

Hello I am new to this but will be building Weimer's Grist Mill by Branchline Trains.

Attachments

• weimers_mini.jpg
    weimers_mini.jpg
    19.3 KB · Views: 128

jlg759

JLG759 Spring 07 KitBuild Challenge Update

Well Guys here goes I have gathered some information and decided to give this kit a try. I will be painting the kit with craft style paints which I have never done. I will be updating more often now that I am getting started. I have been searching for painting ideas with the craft paints as wel as watching the Scott Mason DVD's

Attachments

• IMG_7236.JPG
    IMG_7236.JPG
    53.4 KB · Views: 91
  • IMG_7237.JPG
    IMG_7237.JPG
    58 KB · Views: 74
  • IMG_7238.JPG
    IMG_7238.JPG
    57.4 KB · Views: 75
craft paints

I've used craft paints on a laserkit before...a Trackside Jacks from Bar Mills. Anyway, Just watch out for warpage. I painted one side then hurriedly painted the other in an attempt to get it to curl back the other way! :eek: If you prime the parts this shouldn't be a problem.

Also, for a guy who has never used craft paints before, you sure have alot of them...

jlg759

JLG759 Spring 07 KitBuild Challenge Update 2

Well between last night and today I got the four walls assembled and the first and second floors in. This building is a little strange the way it goes together not much room for bracing I had a small amount of warp-age so I braced and held in place with a clothes pin. More photos soon. I also noticed I need to touch up the paint with a second coat.

Attachments

• IMG_7245.JPG
    IMG_7245.JPG
    20.8 KB · Views: 79
  • IMG_7244.JPG
    IMG_7244.JPG
    34.5 KB · Views: 57
  • IMG_7251.JPG
    IMG_7251.JPG
    20.6 KB · Views: 83

TrainNut

Ditat Deus
Isn't it funny how things look fantastic to the naked eye and then you take pictures of them on post them here on The Gauge and all of a sudden all kinds of flaws jump out at you?!!