I don't know anything, but...

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
Well, I am a newbie to the whole idea of operations, but I'd like to report that I am off to my first operating session tonight! I will hopefully have a report and some pics for you on Monday.

The layout we will be operating is featured in Great Model Railroads 2004. Its the circa late-50s Boston & Maine belonging to Mike Hamer. For some pictures, click here:

http://www.ovar.ca/Mike Hamer/Hamer.htm

I am looking forward to learning more about how to run a railroad like the real thing...

Andrew

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
A report

Well, it was an interesting evening. Mike operates with "train orders" (any mistakes in terminology are mine, not his ;)). So we spent a lot of time making up trains to run in one area, taking them to another area, and then taking them apart. Great fun! In all it is possible to have three crews of two each operating - two in "the pit" in the centre of the layout, and one crew actually in the doorway to the room, working the visible part of the surround staging.

I worked three trains - making up a freight bound for North Dover, the North Dover "mill run" to Conley Lumber, and a switching job in North Dover itself.

For locations, refer to the map of Mike's layout by clicking here.

Please note that these pictures are not from Friday night (I forgot the camera), but from a previous visit.

Andrew

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
The other side of the same bridge. The train goes into a wooded cut at this point. It is very effective at making the layout seem larger, as Mike has taken pains to disguise transition areas and corners on the layout.

Attachments

• bridge 2 sm.jpg
    bridge 2 sm.jpg
    36.7 KB · Views: 272

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site