Hello from Italy

JP64

Jun 19, 2020
Hello,

I'm JP from Rome, Italy... just registered to this forum.

I'm a ship modeler (static models) since I was 20 (now I'm over 50) and until 6-7 years ago I always scratch-builted my ship models using "traditional" materials (wood, metal, plastic, etc..) mainly in scale from 1:75 to 1:100.

My preferred subjects where the warships in the age from 1830 until early years of 1900, where the transition from sails to steam brought to naval building of the most interesting (from my point of view) and ugliest warship ever built..

In the last 7 years, less or more, I discovered the pleasure of paper modeling and so I've started the adventure in this field, where I have found a large number of subjects that can be built as a paper model.

So, since far, I leaved on the shelf my old "traditional" approach of ship modeling and I started to build many paper models, acquiring knowledge and techniques model after model.

I'm happy to be here, in this Forum and I hope to learn more also from other paper modelers from all over the world.

Happy paper modeling !

Ciao
Jp

Gandolf50

Researcher of obscure between war vehicles...
Staff member
Jan 28, 2013
New Mexico USA
Let me be the first to welcome you to Zealot! I personally love old ship models, although I haven't built one since the '60s, I think you will find as I have card is just another form of wood and can be used in all the old modeling with just a few alterations!
It is also far cheaper than the wood required, for a quality model. ;)

As always, " If you have questions, just ask! Someone here is bound to help or point in the right direction!"

We would LOVE to see some of your work!!

EDIT: I see you also posted a model...

Rhaven Blaack

!!!THE MAN BEHIND THE CURTAIN!!!
Staff member
Administrator
Jun 12, 2009
Oregon
www.deviantart.com
Hello JP,

Welcome to Zealot! You have come to the right place for all things paper! We are happy to have you here!