H.G. Wells "The Time Machine" Large Paper Model - Animated

mtrappett

Mar 3, 2013
Santa Clarita, California
You might be wondering what the metal fencing in the background is all about? Well, we had rabbits, and this is one of them. His name's Baxter :yesyes:

100_4719.jpg

All the wiring had to be marked accordingly because there are a surprising number of them. I had to design the circuit diagram for the model prior to doing any wiring. I studied the movie to see exactly what happened when Henry operated the machine. The disk speed and rotations. The number and color of the lights and specifically where they were located on the Time Machine. Trying to get a picture in your mind of how it would really work, or of course intend to work as we are dealing with scfi ;)
100_4753.jpg

This is the boss for the main disk. It has a coupling to connect with the motor. The motor has an inline planetary gearbox and works great for this application. Its off an old robot model I had.
100_4754.jpg

This is the wiring loom from the console. I made the ends of the console from mat clear printable film. It works great on my old Kodak inkjet printer. I wanted a good amount of light to show through these end caps. By the way, the date has some significance to me.
100_4755.jpg

I had to make a "snake" to draw the wires through the paper railings. I couldn't just push it all through as it would snag on the joins in the paper railings. A piece of bowden cable from a R/C model push-rod worked really well for all the model.
100_4756.jpg

The copper wires gave the railings more rigidity too. I used to use this type of wire for the "round-the-pole electric model planes" back in the day. There were to many wires to easily pass through one side of the railings so I had to split them into two looms.
100_4757.jpg