Computer bites the dust

testerofforum

New Member
Aug 1, 2013
2
1
0
The main hard drive REALLY got hot and no longer works. I have lost much valuable data. The rest of the computer is finre, but it is 9 years old. I have all the parts for an 8 core beast, water cooled computer that I have put off as the old one ran so well. That Seagate hatd drive was 5 years old. So over the next week OI will build the new one. Still weak, so I'm working much slower. It's hard for me to post with my cell phone. I have really thick fingers.
Zathros
 

Rhaven Blaack

!!!THE MAN BEHIND THE CURTAIN!!!
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Jun 12, 2009
10,892
7,376
228
Oregon
I am sorry to hear that your computer went "TANGO UNIFORM" and is "FUBAR", and that you lost all of that data.:headbange: I Know that feeling all too well. I too had to deal with that very same issue. I hope that you are able to get your new system up and running very soon!
 
  • Like
Reactions: testerofforum

testerofforum

New Member
Aug 1, 2013
2
1
0
I have 4 Terabytes of back up and a 8 Terabyte cloud which I had not got around too. I have all the important stuff, but I know I slacked on some stufg. Hopefully my Norton 360, which backs up all the time, will come through for me. For some reason I can't log into here with my main account on my phone ?

I go to the doctor today. My large intestine feels like a hufe porcupine is living in it. Slowly getting better though.

I sure hope I have all my bookmarks!:eek:

Zathros
 

Awry_Chaos

OKB-4155
Dec 23, 2020
1,030
1,281
95
47
Spokane, WA
I have 4 Terabytes of back up and a 8 Terabyte cloud which I had not got around too. I have all the important stuff, but I know I slacked on some stufg. Hopefully my Norton 360, which backs up all the time, will come through for me. For some reason I can't log into here with my main account on my phone ?

I go to the doctor today. My large intestine feels like a hufe porcupine is living in it. Slowly getting better though.

I sure hope I have all my bookmarks!:eek:

Zathros
Hope your visit to the doctor goes well. I hope you're not in too much pain. Please let us know how things go. We're all here for you, Zath!
 

micahrogers

Moderator "Where am I, and how did I get here?"
Staff member
Moderator
Jul 12, 2012
3,089
3,434
113
Shannon GA
Hmm, I've never had a problem logging on with my phone... but I'm an Android user, and Google stores everything from Chrome for me across platforms.

Maybe Christopher can help you with phone log in.

I have a 2 TB external hard drive with everything backed up on, but it's in Georgia, and I'm in California... So as long as my computer here stays running, I'm covered.
 

micahrogers

Moderator "Where am I, and how did I get here?"
Staff member
Moderator
Jul 12, 2012
3,089
3,434
113
Shannon GA
I'm still using my 2017 Dell Core I7 laptop, I've done a full factory reset on it, and now it's doing about as good as it can... Back in the old days, I could make my Commodore 64 do anything I wanted... I built a 386 chipset when Windowz 3.11 came out, Built a 486 dx when Win 95 came out, Then stopped building them when the parts cost got to high for me to justify...
 

zathros

*****SENIOR ADMINISTRATOR*****
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Apr 6, 2013
12,487
7,980
228
I am almost done with the computer. It is going to be a beastly machine.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Awry_Chaos

Awry_Chaos

OKB-4155
Dec 23, 2020
1,030
1,281
95
47
Spokane, WA
I'm still using my 2017 Dell Core I7 laptop, I've done a full factory reset on it, and now it's doing about as good as it can... Back in the old days, I could make my Commodore 64 do anything I wanted... I built a 386 chipset when Windowz 3.11 came out, Built a 486 dx when Win 95 came out, Then stopped building them when the parts cost got to high for me to justify...
Commodore like Atari was way ahead of their time. Actually, it's preety inexpensive to build a good system, you just need to know where to find the parts and how to put them together.
 

zathros

*****SENIOR ADMINISTRATOR*****
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Apr 6, 2013
12,487
7,980
228
Here's a pic of the innards. Got to connect the SATA connectors, mount a couple more fans, then I should be ready to go. The Video card has 8 Gigs of Ram. 24 Gigs of regular Ram. 8 core AMD 9890, 4.7 Ghz per core CPU and a MSI MoBo. It is water cooled too.

20211222_144131_HDR.jpg
 

micahrogers

Moderator "Where am I, and how did I get here?"
Staff member
Moderator
Jul 12, 2012
3,089
3,434
113
Shannon GA
Commodore like Atari was way ahead of their time. Actually, it's preety inexpensive to build a good system, you just need to know where to find the parts and how to put them together.
I would have to build a laptop, and parts to build laptops aren't cheap, When I bought this one it was as good as you could get without special ordering. I'll eventually upgrade the ram, but it currently has 12GB and the upgrade would be to 16, and tat's all the motherboard supports.
 
  • Like
Reactions: zathros

zathros

*****SENIOR ADMINISTRATOR*****
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Apr 6, 2013
12,487
7,980
228
12Gigs in a Laptop is great! In South Korea they have open air markets and sell everything you need to make your own killer Laptop for cheaper than buying a ready main one
Of course this only works with people like you and me who can build our own stuff. There is no place in the U.S.A. that offers that.

They are on average 2 to 3 years ahead of us in consumer technology. They can build their own cell phones too!

Sound great, but then again, you would have to live in South Korea. That would be expensive. Having North Korea planning to annihilate you all the time would stress the "fravk" out of me.:eek: