Colour protection for paper models

starbuck

Hi @ all,

I had to notice, that the colours of my paper models loose intensity by getting older. I use 250g/m2 ink-jet paper and an inkjet printer to print my models.

I am drawing portraits, too. To fix the coulour of these drawings I use a fixing spray to fix the drawing.

Now I was wondering if there is an idea how to fix the colours of the paper models. Any idea would be very welcome.

Best regards and thx in advance.

Lighter

A photography store will have clear sprays that block UV.

Unless you used archival ink jet paper there will still be color leaching because of the acids in the paper. Nothing will stop that. But its a lot slower than UV damage.

Canon, HP and Epson all offer paper and ink combinations that are good for decades. It can get a bit pricy.

Revell-Fan

Co-Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
I have been using an HP Office Jet with HP ink cartridges for many, many years now. I use ordinary 160 gsm paper by Rainbow, really nothing special but the packaging says "Elementary Chlorine Free" and "Archival Guarantee DIN ISO 9706", "suitable for all printer types" and "FCS certified for a fair and ecological wood management". I occasionally use A4 Premium InkJet PhotoPaper by United Office (280 gsm, PE coated and UV resistant). All the models I have printed and built since I joined the forum (about 5 years ago) are still looking excellently. I do not use any fixatives or solutions and have not experienced a grave loss in quality yet (knocking on wood ;) ).