The picture is a link, not a copy. Links are acceptable by our rules, copies of copyrighted work is not.It's a photshop job of a triplex. Erie is misspelled. The number is wrong. A quick google shows it came from http://www.karenparker.net/PixelMagic/pixelmagic.htm , and it's near the bottom. I guess you have premission to post it here? NEXT
Thanks for the photo Mountain. This reminds me of a huge-boilered 5 or 6 cylinder shay that I drew once - if I'd only have had photoshop back in the day...At least, that's what I think it is!
Nah, the donor is an N&W Y of some subclass.It's a photshop job of a triplex.
It's the Whyte system of notation - and yes, in a way, it does refer to axles - although indirectly by actually counting the number of wheels. I believe the French method counts axles.
A 4-6-2 (for example) is a "Pacific" type steam loco. It has 4 wheels (two axles) on the pilot or lead truck, 6 powered driving wheels (three axles) and a trailing truck (under the firebox) with 2 wheels/one axle.
Some locos with more than one set of drivers uses an addional number - like Challengers, Big Boys, etc - e.g. 2-6-6-6. This implies two pilot wheels, two sets of six drivers (three axles each) and a trailing truck with six wheels.
Where there are no wheels, it is noted with a zero - e.g. small switching engine 0-6-0 with six drivers only and no lead or trailing truck.
Additions are used for things like Mallet engines - 4-6-2+2-6-4, and other specifics may use letters, like adding "T" for tank engine. Thomas is a 0-6-0T
Not if you allow the '2' for the unpowered pilot wheels. :thumb:Interesting proposal... even if it's a photoshop job. Isn't it a 2-4-6-8+10 though? "+10" for the booster (i.e. powered wheels on the tender) and no "12" since unpowered axels on the tender don't count?
Whyte doesn't seem to account for wheels on a tender when all are unpowered. It's only unpowered wheels on the loco that count. And I am not 100% on how the Whyte system counts to booster - the "+10" is my conjecture based on how the Mallets are counted.Not if you allow the '2' for the unpowered pilot wheels. :thumb: