Wow!

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by JoeGrapes, Jan 1, 2007.

1. JoeGrapes

JoeGrapes Member

Well, I'm new to model railroading. I mean I had a Lionel as a kid and HO later on but now I want a winter hobby. I belong to a car chat just like this becouse in the summer I have a muscle car that I play with. Anyway, I've found that chat to vary helpful amd I hope I've helped other people with my experiance. I'm sure this chat will do the same for me and as I get more experiance, I hope to do the same for others. But, I can't believe there are that many problems with the new stuff out there. The first thing I bought was a Lionel CW 80 transformer I got new on E-Bay that I paid $44.99 for. I thought I got a good price. Man, did I make a mistake? I'm looking at bidding on a Lionel 6-28028 2-6-6-6 Alleghany that looks just great. I've seen a real one in person and am still ah struck. With all I've read about Lionel I'm shocked there're still in business. They can't be that bad. I don't want to start out gun shy. I'm an eternal optimist. Tell me something good! :)
  2. Cannonball

Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

I have a CW80 that I got from eBay as well. Going by the price you paid, I would guess from the same guy. (He parts out train kits, right?) I haven't had any problems with mine thus far.

One thing to remember, you'll hear far more about the bad than the good. That's pretty true about everything and doesn't just apply to the model train world. There were several posts from people during the Christmas season asking for help because of problems with new Lionel sets. For those 3 or 4 people, there were probably a thousand others that bought train sets and never posted because their units worked perfectly right out of the box. Bad news travels far more quickly than good news.