Woodland scenics rock molds!!! Wow!

slagpot

Jul 11, 2006
Beaufort,SC
Hello all,

While living in coastal SC,theres not much rock to make cast molds out of. So I went to the hobby shop Sunday {Bull St station,Savannah,GA} and purchased a rock mold. I should have bought all they had. These little jewels are priceless,can't wait to buy more.

I cast mine out of plaster and then washed them with a mix of indian ink and alcohol.After the weathering element was done, I then dust coated them with iron ore red.

This is my first time casting rock,even though the hard part was done for me {the mold} ,I'm very happy with the outcome.

Next weekend I start my out-door 12'X16' shed to house my layout.These rock molds will prove to be very useful.

Patrick
Beaufort,SC
Dragon River Steel Corp {DRSC}

bigsteel

Call me Mr.Tinkertrain
Dec 12, 2006
Cincinnati,Ohio
ive heard of the idea of using tinfoil for rocks,but how do you do that?do you put a coat of plaster on then stick crumpled foil on there or what?

Jeffs_Railroad

Dec 18, 2006
Connecticut
bigsteel said:
ive heard of the idea of using tinfoil for rocks,but how do you do that?do you put a coat of plaster on then stick crumpled foil on there or what?