Wiring old Shinohara turnouts for dcc?

Twindad

Mar 28, 2007
Bay Area, CA
Hi everyone,

I am going to risk asking a stupid question: if one is using old Shinohara turnouts, and wants to wire for DCC, is all the turnout surgery really necessary (such as on the Wiring for DCC website)? I've searched and found posts that show people doing varying degrees of rail cutting/wiring, etc., and I'm not sure what is necessary.

If isolating the frog is what is essential to avoid shorts, can't that be done by simply putting insulated joiners at both diverging ends of the turnout, and powering the turnout from the point end? (that's my stupid question)

I'm new to all this, so please forgive my ignorance! Is there a benefit to cutting the rails closer to the frog, as opposed to isolating the turnout by using the insulated joiners? If I were to cut the rail close to the frog, would I need to make 4 cuts (2 on each side of the frog, as they are on the newer shinohara's)? Would I then need to wire the frog with a DPDT (or connect it to the appropriate terminals on a Tortoise?) What else do I need to think about?

I want to do this right, but I REALLY don't want to rebuild all of these things...I'd rather go buy Atlas turnouts and forget about it! One thing that has come to light--it appears I probably should be wiring and testing with DCC now, as opposed to DC (I've got an old DC powerpack, and was going to hold off on giving my kids the DCC unit and decoders until their birthday in October).

Thanks!

Steve

Pooh Bah
Mar 25, 2002
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Visit site
Steve: the bits of the Shinohara turnouts that gave us problems were the points. We also had the same problems with most all-rail turnouts where the points were installed so that both would be at the same polarity.