Wiring basics help needed....

RonP

Member of the WMRC
Hello all
i need some assistance in planning my electricals in my layout. Being a total newb at MRR i have an idea of how to do this but being this far in my layout i am not bold enough to go it alone.

I anyone knows of some links to good wiring tutorials and tips on wiring DC, i am going to get DCC in 6 months and want to have everything ready for this as well.

My benchwork takes up 10' squared using 2 4X8 sheets of plywood on a C type design.

YmeBP

RonP said:
Hello all
i need some assistance in planning my electricals in my layout. Being a total newb at MRR i have an idea of how to do this but being this far in my layout i am not bold enough to go it alone.

I anyone knows of some links to good wiring tutorials and tips on wiring DC, i am going to get DCC in 6 months and want to have everything ready for this as well.

My benchwork takes up 10' squared using 2 4X8 sheets of plywood on a C type design.

I did a search for dc wiring in the forum search box on the top bar, also i did a search for dc ho wiring on google to get some basics on wiring. There is tons of info around this forum on wiring ;).

Russ Bellinis

Kalmbach and Carstens both publish basic dc wiring books. I found the basic wiring book from Kalmbach essential when I was first learning. Itr is also handy to have it as a reference in case something goes wrong while you are building your layout. The info may be on the internet, but a book is just a lot easier to use for me. In terms of basic wiring problems or how to's, I think we need to see a detailed track plan of what you want to build. If I see your layout drawing, I can identify reverse loops or other potential problems, and there are others here who can see things better than I can. Without a drawing, I don't know where to start.

davex

Really simply- if your going to get dcc in 6 months then dont bother wiring it for DC.