Wiring A Yard & Engine Facility for DCC

ROCK4350

I am new at DCC, I have my main line wired, how would you wire a multi-track yard and and engine facility? Right now I have two feeder lines on each end of the yard and blocked on both ends, will this work?

UP SD40-2

I am new at DCC, I have my main line wired, how would you wire a multi-track yard and and engine facility? Right now I have two feeder lines on each end of the yard and blocked on both ends, will this work?

ROCK:wav: , Since your running DCC, theoretically you wouldn't have to "block" ANY of the tracks:winki: .

HOWEVER, i too am running DCC, and i use sound decoders in my engines, the problem is not all brands of the "older" sound decoders had it so the sound can be turned off if your not using that particular engine. to solve that problem i DID block JUST MY ENGINE HOLDING tracks, i have them hooked up to toggle switches.

with out blocking the engine holding tracks, no matter if you use a sound decoder, or just regular decoders, those engines will always be "on", which is fine really, MANY run there layouts like that without any harm:thumb: . my personal thoughts though, why have an engine powered if your not using it, thats why i just blocked off the engine holding tracks, but with non-sound decoders, that is probably overkill.

lets see if other folks chime in on here and see what they say on this matter:winki: .

deano1.gif
-Deano

seanm

If you are in a multi user situation and have someone working the yard and someone else working the mains, it might be a good idea to make the yard a separate power district. There is a fair chance that there will be a short in the yard and it would be nice to not take down the rest of the layout if you have a short there. Now if this is a fairly small layout, it really doesn't matter.

Pooh Bah
Rock: Plastic or all-metal frogs?