WINDOWS 10 The Right Way!!!

Discussion in 'Off Topic Lounge' started by zathros, Jul 18, 2016.

  1. nero-on-fire

    nero-on-fire New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    130
    Uh, what?! Thought it went till last of the month, meaning 31 of July...

    Bugger, I had time like a year and now things are getting tight. Then I will have to visit them sooner as planned, they sure are gonna be happy about this :)
  2. Revell-Fan

    Revell-Fan Co-Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,047
    Likes Received:
    3,685
    thumbsup

    The last day is July 29th, 2016.

    (Chinese calenders may differ. :D:D:D)
  3. Revell-Fan

    Revell-Fan Co-Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,047
    Likes Received:
    3,685
  4. zathros

    zathros -----SENIOR---- Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7,682
    Likes Received:
    3,524
  5. Revell-Fan

    Revell-Fan Co-Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,047
    Likes Received:
    3,685
    I managed to download the latest updates. The monitor issues are fixed now, I'm able to calibrate it again. It was definitely a driver issue. :)

    Safe removal of USB devices is (still) working properly. :)

    Attention: The start page of my Firefox was changed during the update to the bing homepage. Restoring the original start page was an easy fix. ;)
  6. zathros

    zathros -----SENIOR---- Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7,682
    Likes Received:
    3,524
    It failed again. Since I have already made the image tool, the deadline is no longer an issue. I will be purchasing a New Hard Drive when I can scrape up some money. ;)
  7. Revell-Fan

    Revell-Fan Co-Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,047
    Likes Received:
    3,685
    Did you use Ccleaner often? It is said that its use could prevent Windows 10 from installing correctly.
  8. Revell-Fan

    Revell-Fan Co-Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,047
    Likes Received:
    3,685
    Alright, the system is running wihout problems. Update activity is moderate (Aug 1st: 460 MB which was expected because of my restored high speed, Aug 2nd: 0 MB which was quite a surprise). One thing is really strange: Aside from the updates all Microsoft services which require an internet connection do not work. Internet Explorer (yes, it is still there!), Edge and Skype are unable to connect to the web. Firefox and its Skype browser plugin work flawlessly though. I changed the connection and internet settings back and forth without success. I went through countless tuts on the web but nothing solved the problem. I don't dare to tamper with the settings of my web stick to avoid being unable to connect to the web by accident. So I guess I'll leave that as is till Microsoft offers a patch or something.
  9. zathros

    zathros -----SENIOR---- Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7,682
    Likes Received:
    3,524
    My new AMD 8 Core 4.7 Ghz Water-cooled CPU computer, 4 G's iof Video Ram. made the transition seamlessly, but then again, it had nothing on t. My Windows 7 machine Quad Core AMD 365 Ghz Black Edition kept coming up with an error which Microsoft could not figured out what it mean. Theoretically, because I registered the machine on the Thumb Drive, I will be able to install it, but after using it on my sons machine, I think it is just Windows 7 with some frills on it. I do not plan to update this machine. ;)
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2016
  10. Revell-Fan

    Revell-Fan Co-Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,047
    Likes Received:
    3,685
    I have done another backup to be prepared for the Anniversary Update which is rolling out these days. With every upgrade the "Window.old" folder will be overwritten by a backup of the predecessing OS. So once I have upgraded I won't be able to return to Win 8.1 using the inbuilt restore function any longer. I will have to rely on the backup I made myself then. ;)

    To all Win 10 users who might be wondering why they haven't got the AnnivUp yet: When you have upgraded shortly before the 29th July the Windows.old folder (which contains all Win 7 / 8 OS files) will stop automatic upgrades till the return period of 30 days has expired (unless you enforce it by using an *.iso file). So if you have upgraded on July 26th you won't get the AnnivUp before August 26th. ;)
  11. Jadriancz

    Jadriancz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    65
    Since starting with comps back in the days of IIc, Commodore's and Vic-120's, I used to use upgrade images but after the fiascos of Win 95 and Win2K. On my personal systems, I stopped using upgrade images and do a GWscan wipe, then load an OEM version of the OS. I have had way too many issues doing upgrades on servers not to do a wipe and fresh install. Even had the issue on company desktops going from Win XP to Win 7 because the company wanted upgrade licenses instead of full OS images. Even when you warn the upper echelon of the issues that will crop up they still choose the cheaper route then pay more in in the long run due to issues down the road.
  12. Revell-Fan

    Revell-Fan Co-Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,047
    Likes Received:
    3,685
    Yes. I might do a clean install when I have more time later, this is why I'm keeping the *.iso files that allow me to do that without having to DL the whole installation files again. I have grabbed the 1607 build (4 GB) and will install it soon. ;)
    Jadriancz likes this.
  13. Revell-Fan

    Revell-Fan Co-Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,047
    Likes Received:
    3,685
    Anniversary update successful, no obvious changes in the behaviour of the OS and installed apps.

    Skype, Edge and Internet Explorer still do not connect to the web and I don't know why. DNS Client is working, all other apps connect to the web flawlessly, MS Update and Skype browser plugin work.

    :)
  14. Jadriancz

    Jadriancz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    65
    Check internet options/connections/lan settings for proxy or script..
  15. Revell-Fan

    Revell-Fan Co-Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,047
    Likes Received:
    3,685
    I have checked all options I can imagine; maybe I'm a bit MS blind but nothing has worked so far. I have found some workarounds to ensure that my functionality is not crippled by that but I still find it very odd that only the MS programs are affected (no need for Cortana, the weather and the news, but I assume they don't work either).
  16. zathros

    zathros -----SENIOR---- Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7,682
    Likes Received:
    3,524
    I have an update that will not install. When I do it manually, it says, this update is not applicable to your machine, so I will reload W7 and have it fix my present W7, and attempt again. My son now has W10, but to be honest, I don't see anything that benefits me. If I cannot end up doing it, I won't care, I really like W7, and plan to build a monster rig in two years on AMD's new architecture, I will never use an Intel chip. I have seen people buy2 or 3 computers in the time I have had my AMD machines. I build my own computers, and my personal opini0n is that while some Intel's do run faster, AMD has them beat on the graphics, and though the AMD's run hotter, aren't quite as energy efficient, they out last the Intel chips. This has been my experience, others may have had just the opposite. The water cooler on the last computer I build a few months back could probably cool my M.G. Midget with it's Radiator :)
  17. Revell-Fan

    Revell-Fan Co-Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,047
    Likes Received:
    3,685
    Yep, I can imagine. There are quite a few people having trouble upgrading from Win 7. It is exactly as you describe. Upgrading from Win 8 should be easier. MS should have designed the upgrade for Win 7 so that it upgrades in two steps: first from Win 7 to 8 and then to 10 (with the intermediate step inaccessible to the user, of course ;) ). I have upgraded mainly because of security reasons. I switched off all unnecessary communications and the forced updates are really not that bad. They do not eat up all my high speed volume (that was what I feared most). I have access to an open WiFi (free at our local market place) which I will check out these days to see if Edge & Co connects to the web this way. :)
  18. zathros

    zathros -----SENIOR---- Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7,682
    Likes Received:
    3,524
    After seeing W10 on my last computer build, I am content to stay with W7, though, because I did the "Thumb drive .ISO" thing, I can reinstall W7 on a new hard drive and dual boot W7 and W10 if I wish. :)
  19. Jadriancz

    Jadriancz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    65
    Have you checked the windows compatibility settings. They may still be set to windows 8 or even 7 settings. You might even run the compatibility troubleshooter.

    If you are still having the same issue... try the following for each program (change out the program names for other programs)

    Quit Skype or use Windows Task Manager to kill any Skype.exe process. Go to Windows Start and in the Search/Run box type %appdata% and then press Enter or click the OK button. The Windows File Explorer will pop up. There locate a folder named “Skype”. Rename this folder to something different, e.g. Skype_old.

    Next go to Windows Start and in the Search/Run box type %temp%\skype and then press Enter or click the OK button. Delete the DbTemp folder.

    Restart Skype.
  20. Revell-Fan

    Revell-Fan Co-Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,047
    Likes Received:
    3,685
    @Jadriancz : Thanks for the tip but it does not work.