Where Do You Start?????

waredbear

Okay...I have a plan...where do I start laying out from? Do I start in the center and work out? Do I start at one corner and work out from there? Do I start in the yard? WHERE???? I will print out the layout from XTrkCad at 1:1 and use that for the general track location but do you start at a turnout? a curve? a bridge? where where oh where do I start?

Reid:confused:

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
If you are using flex track, start by laying out your turnouts at the critical spots, and then cut the flex track to fit.

If you have printed out your plan 1:1, then lay it on the benchwork for a precise guide.

Andrew

waredbear

Track Laying Virgin

This is my first time at laying track. So I nail down all of the switches first. I would then solder the flex track together to fit to the next switch. Cut it to fit and move on. The curves are tricky since the rails move. I will need to cut the binders as needed and even up the track at the end of the curve. Right? Do I solder all of the connections as I go or do I lay it all out first, tack it down, check everything out and then come back and solder the switches? I think this would be a GREAT place for somebody with experience to jump in and guide me through the process...:confused:

Thanks
Reid:-D

nolatron

Not sure what scale you are using, but take care with putting in those track nails. Bang to hard and the nail can push on the tie (or break it) and put your track out of gauge, especially in N-scale.

I'm gonna go back to use something like liquid nails again on the upcoming layout to glue down flex track.

waredbear