Where do i start

rasman24

I am very new to the hobby and was wondering where to start on the layout. I want to go with the N scale just because of the room that i have, any suggestions where to start with the layout would be very very greatfull.:mrgreen:

rogerw

First hi and welcome. The first thing you need to do is plan, then when your done with that, plan plan plan some more. I was ready to just jump into things and thanks to alot of good people here I took two steps back and after a year I think I have what I will be happy with.
Here is a good link to get started
http://forum.zealot.com/t110655/

N

nachoman

My advice:

Step 1: Visit the local hobby shop and look around. Pay special attention to the magazine and book rack. There is plenty of info in those publications for beginners.

Step 2: If you have never, ever had model trains before, you may want to find a locomotive and a few cars you like (ask what's good at the hobby shop), a power pack, and some some track. I would recommend something like kato unitrack so that you can make temporary setups on a table.

Step 3: play around, maybe try building a building or two, and add to your rolling stock fleet.

My advice is that a layout is a big step. Be sure you know what is involved before getting that far. Having a temporary setup allows you tao have fun while exploring differnt aspects of the hobby.

Kevin

L

lester perry