what's your favorite engine?

Fishums

First off I am a beginner, I have scanned this site for 3 hours and I am already in awe. I was curious what people opinions of the 4 main engines of the logging era (that I am aware of)

Heisler
Climax
Willamette
Shay

Also what are your favorite brands and why? I am interested in the bachmann Spectrum 2 and 3 truck shay's if anyone has an info on maximum grade and radius these engines are capable please post! Or if you know anything about the rivarossi's or a better solution.

I am interested also in finding some fine detail skeleton cars, the out house like caboose, and a steam skidder. If you know of any other items I should put on my wish list let me know as well.

If you have any ideas to get me started at my loggin HO dream let me know! I had an HO set when I was a kid, and well I would like to get back into this hobby again. I air brush and paint minutures in my board time currently and I beleive it is time to move on to HO :)

Thanks for reading, Chris

N

nachoman

hey, welcome to what I think is the best model railroad forum on the internet. I have no experience with the bachmann shay, but from what I hear, they are terrific. As for my favoirite logging engines, I still favor the small rod engines - or small articulateds (2-4-4-2). For the cars and caboose you seek, kadee makes both.

one thing I can recommend for a logging layout - code 100 track does not look well for a logging line. I would go no larger than code 70 rail, and if you are willing to handlay, even better.

kevin

Fishums

code 70

Thank you for responding so quickly. I have started researching the kapee cars and I am very impressed! Thanks! I found last night that rivarossi makes a nice skeleton car, but I like kapee's detail a little better. They are almost exactly what I am looking for. That little "out house" style bobber caboose
smile.gif