what kind of train is this??

drsynister

hello train enthusiasts.

i am a university student in canada that is studying 3d modelling and animation. for my final project i was hoping to recreate a scene from a photograph. i wanted to know if anyone knew what kind of train this is: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi...nasse_1895.jpg

if it helps its from a train crash in Montparnasse, France in 1895.

if you know what kind of train it is, can you please help me find other pictures of that type of train (from different angles) and maybe (but unlikely) blueprints of said train?

thanks guys, keep rollin on the rails

CRed

An 2-4-0 would be a "Porter" type steam engine.If it's an 2-4-2 it would be a "Columbian"type engine.I can't tell for sure but it looks like a 2-4-0 to me.

Chris

hmas

From google
Translated version of http://www.histoire-en-ligne.com/article.php3?id_article=22&artsuite=1

The accident

Le 22 octobre 1895, eut lieu un accident hors du commun. On October 22, 1895, an accident took place out of the ordinary. Le Granville - Paris composé de douze wagons et qui transportait 131 passagers approchait de la gare Montparnasse. The Granville - Paris composed of twelve cars and carrying 131 passengers was approaching the Gare Montparnasse. Deux fourgons à bagages et un fourgon postal étaient couplés à la locomotive. Two vans luggage and a van were postal coupled with the locomotive.