Weekend Question: L.E.D.’s or Incandescent or both??????

Discussion in 'The Caboose' started by N Gauger, Nov 18, 2006.

  1. N Gauger

    N Gauger 1:20.3 Train Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2000
    Messages:
    6,916
    Likes Received:
    0
    For 11/18 & 11/19...... On your layout..... Do you have L.E.D.’s or Incandescent lighting or both?????? This includes Engines, Rolling stock, Buildings, Autos.... etc..... This does NOT include ceiling lighting! :D
  2. doctorwayne

    doctorwayne Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    After spending a lot of time and money installing adequate lighting in the layout room, and then a lot more time and money on trains, buildings and scenery, night operations are no longer allowed.:D (Although I often feel like I'm in the dark about something or other.:rolleyes: )
    At one time, I did install lights in some structures, but I found that operations in a darkened room were not much fun. Nowadays, I remove the lights from most of my locos, and replace them with additional weight for improved pulling power. While lighting can look effective, especially in a photograph, the first time that a headlight flickers or a passenger car's lights dim as the train crosses a turnout pretty much spoils it for me. I do appreciate the effort that others put into lighting effects, but it's not something that I want to spend time on.

    Wayne
  3. brakie

    brakie Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Like Wayne I remove the lights in my locomotives since they are dim anyway..I don't add lights to mt structures..I tried using yard lights one time for night yard switching but,I felt it was to awkward.Look nice though.:D
  4. ezdays

    ezdays Out AZ way

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got most of the interiors of my structures lit using incandescent bulbs because of the intensity and the ability to vary the amount of light. I've also kept the bulbs in all the locos I've got, including the ones that I restored. I think it would be too much hassle to change them out in my N scale stuff. I've got lots of LEDs, literally thousands of T1 3/4 and T1's left from our business but they're all too big for me to use on my layout, so the answer to the question is, no, I don't have any LED's on my layout or on my rolling stock. Yes, I will have LED's on my control panels when I get around to building them though...:rolleyes:
  5. fsm1000

    fsm1000 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used grain of wheat bulbs for years [deacdes really] but I plan to switch to LED for my buildings when I get to them.
    Hope that answers ya . :)
  6. hooknlad

    hooknlad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like to use both the incandesnt and the LEDs - both serve differnt purposes on the amount and quality of light emmitted.
  7. steamhead

    steamhead Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have incandescent lights in all my buildings and use a rheostat to dim them so they have a nice look. Even though I have fluorescent lighting now in the train room, I have also installed a few incandescents (also on a dimmer switch) so night operations can be carried out (not in complete darkness, of course...). Night operations add a whole other dimension to running trains.
    I also tried lighting a couple of my cabooses but the constant flickering killed the effect. I'll try using a 9v. battery & a microswitch later on for these.
  8. N Gauger

    N Gauger 1:20.3 Train Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2000
    Messages:
    6,916
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have all LED's - even the Bachmann Climax has all LED's :D
  9. oldtanker

    oldtanker Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haven't gotten that far yet....