Wattage needed for 40 foot O scale layout around kids room

Jcniv69

Feb 1, 2010
Hello,

Newbie here. I will be installing an O scale Lionel layout around my son's room, on a shelf along all 4 walls. The total distance will be approx 40-45 feet. Will the single 80 watt transformer be enough power for that much track? Or are there 'booster' power transformers I could add?

Any advice on how to do this would be aporeciated! :)

John

Pooh Bah
Mar 25, 2002
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Visit site
John:
Welcome to Zealot.
Distance should not be a factor in how many watts. What does happen is that resistance builds up in the track, especially at joins between sections, and the voltage drops off. What you need to do is add extra feeders around the layout. I like to use lamp cord -- overkill, maybe, but easy to get. Then run feeders from the cord up to the track; my feeling is every 6 to 8 feet. Attach smaller wires (or the same size) to the lamp cord (now it's a bus) and the track. Use the same attachment to the track as your main power source, or you can solder if you're careful. Keep the inside and outside rails straight. If you get slowdowns, add more feeders in between. Fancy track work like holdings sections will make it more complicated; I assume you only have one train.
Where transformer size comes in is in the amount of train you can operate. I use an 80 watt with the Polar express with about 6 lighted coaches. What happens is that each function in the train consumes more watts. Adding lighted cars, sound effects, accessories, lighted switches, will add to the burden. Someplace around here there should be a post suggesting how many watts each item consumes. (Lionel's instruction books 50 years ago had a table ...)

Jcniv69

Feb 1, 2010
Thanks. That's a good tip. However, the layout will be up high, above the closets and doors. So I don't want a bunch of wire showing underneath. Does that make sense? I want a very clean look as people look up at the layout...