WARR Update

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by Xaniel, Jul 25, 2003.

  1. Xaniel

    Xaniel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I was able to remove all my ballast, as I was adviced in the Technical Q & A forum, bought a new N Scale ballast, because I usually used the H0... wrong!!!! Newbie error... buy what there is at the LHS...

    Well, I've order one ballast really small, really up to scale. It will b e here next week. I'm anxious. In the mean time, I've been rustying my rails. Painted the ties, and with a darker redish brown, painted rails. These rails here are to be in a Steel Arched Bridge from Faller.

    It took me quite a while to do all this, but it is great.

    Attached Files:

  2. Xaniel

    Xaniel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    at the bottom of that bridge there will be a beach. But to go to that bridge, Man had to get rid of some rocks, with TNT... And built a wall to secure other rocks from falling.

    Here it is, still with many details to add.

    Attached Files:

  3. jon-monon

    jon-monon Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    4,764
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lookin' good, babe!
  4. csxnscale

    csxnscale Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Louis,
    As you can see now for yourself, painting ties and track makes a world of difference. Good job.

    Paul
  5. rcwatkins

    rcwatkins Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks good, keep it up. What power pack is that?
  6. Xaniel

    Xaniel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is the only power pack I have. Its a Fleischmann Trafo 6735. Very good indeed.

    :)
  7. Xaniel

    Xaniel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm needing your help, fellow modellers,

    Today, I was doing some things here at my layout, and I thought about one thing:

    It was possible to recover all my track from my layout, so I'm thinking about building a new structure. But my problem is this - I need to creat a structure that can be noise absorver, 3.9cms hight, so that I can put a bridge there, and easy for wiring.

    So what kind of struture should I do? I'm thinking about open frame, perhaps something with foam... What do you guys think?

    Thanks for your time.
  8. Xaniel

    Xaniel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, Today i went shopping:

    blue foam, wood for the structure, and a new bridge for the warr.

    eheh :)

    sorry about the bad quality.

    Attached Files:

  9. Tyson Rayles

    Tyson Rayles Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Messages:
    4,501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice looking bridge Luis!
  10. Xaniel

    Xaniel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is layout with it new sub road bed!!! I think now i'm getting it!

    Attached Files:

  11. Xaniel

    Xaniel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    I getting to a point that I'm thinking about a lot of stuff that I have to here.

    One if these thing is the color I should apply to the blue foam.

    What kind of ink, what kind of colors?

    Can you help here?
  12. Xaniel

    Xaniel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    The bridge is in place. First oval is wired.

    Attached Files:

  13. Xaniel

    Xaniel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    here it is another view.

    Attached Files:

  14. Matthyro

    Matthyro Will always be re-membered

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's good to see your progress Luis. Is the bridge a kit?
    As far as colouring the foam just coat it with latex paint in a beigy grey colour then while wet, sprinlke on ground foam .
  15. hemiadda2d

    hemiadda2d Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you break an N-scale champagne bottle over the engine's nose before its maiden voyage over your new layout?
    And BN no less, at the point! U da man!;)
  16. Xaniel

    Xaniel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    The second oval is added. I think I need to get a second PSU to this oval and sidings. This way I can control two trains finally.

    [​IMG]

    what do you think?
  17. garyn

    garyn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Daniel

    As the turnouts are in the back of the layout, I recommend that you really check them out for specification and reliability.

    What I mean are:
    - do the points lie flush against the running rail on both sides when thrown
    - are the flangways to spec
    - are there any parts that are out of level

    The reason is, reaching them to fix looks like it might be difficult. Better to make sure they work well before it is hard to remove them to fix.

    I have 4 turnouts that I have to fix, and I have to remove the upper level on my layout to get to them. :-( Luckily the upper level is not sceniced yet, so I can still unscrew and remove it.

    Gary
  18. Xaniel

    Xaniel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    garyn, thanks for you concern.

    About the turnouts everything is ok, and the size of this layout, makes it easy to reach.

    I've been testing it all day, since i had manytrains runing, and runing, and runing about 2h (with stops, making them go backwards, bla bla bla, And I had no derailments. The two trains run smoothly, but I'll test the track even before ballasting.

    About the S curve near the bridge. No derailments either.

    Thanks.