Walthers Cornerstone Structures

Has anyone used walthers Cornerstone Building Kits? And how realistic are they?? I've seen some of your layouts, and they look too realistic to be store bought kits. But with my lack of artistic ability, I'll have to settle for the kits. Any suggestions???

Thanx, planeshavings :confused:

Tyson Rayles

IMHO the kits do make realistic buildings (you can also bash em' to make them more original). However one of the kits I bought had missing parts and parts that didn't fit right, as well as warped wall sections (George Roberts Printing--N-Scale). The hobby shop called Walthers and got the missing parts replaced, I had to live with the rest.

C

Catt

Artistic ability is something you can learn, actually to my way of thinking it is self taught in this hobby.:D

As far as suggestions go,I would suggest you look for some built up kits at trainshows(cheap ones don't pay more than a couple bucks for em),take these home and practice painting and detailing them.

Matthyro

Will always be re-membered
planeshavings42

I have quite a few of these cornerstone kits in N scale and found them fun to build. They look great on my layout. Painting as Catt points out is very important to make them look realistic and not just a toy.

Used Models

Originally posted by Catt!
Artistic ability is something you can learn, actually to my way of thinking it is self taught in this hobby.:D

As far as suggestions go,I would suggest you look for some built up kits at trainshows(cheap ones don't pay more than a couple bucks for em),take these home and practice painting and detailing them.

Great idea of buying used kits and practicing painting on them, Also may be able to Bash parts to use. The artistic part I'm still not so sure of. Thanx for the G-R-E-A-T suggestion CATT.
planeshavings :cool:

Bad Kit

Originally posted by Tyson Rayles