Using Kadee #5 w/ Tyco rolling stock

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by YmeBP, Dec 30, 2006.

  1. YmeBP

    YmeBP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    I plan to replace most of the trucks on my rolling stock w/ kadee's. I've been playing around w/ some and i'm a little nervouse. I may blow my budget and not get even half my cars done.

    Is there some way to mount kadee #5 to truck mounted horn style coupler mounts?
  2. 60103

    60103 Pooh Bah

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought Kadee had another coupler for the tyco truck mounts -- was it #9? I seem to remember an extra thin box.
    #5 may be most common, but it's not universal.
    I body mounted #5 on some of them.
  3. YmeBP

    YmeBP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought a 2-56 tap so i could potentially mount them on the body. I'll have to go hunting around their website for that correct coupler.

    Looks like #27 or #28 w/ a talgo adapter will do the trick :(. Man .. i just bought a bazillion #5's.
    http://www.kadee.com/conv/pdf/l166.pdf
  4. Thoroughbreed

    Thoroughbreed Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just body mount the #5's with the included boxes and cut the talgo box off.:thumb:
  5. LongIslandTom

    LongIslandTom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wouldn't waste the additional money on the Tycos by buying the adapter kits.. Like Thoroughbreed says, cut off the truck-mounted couplers, and build body-mounts. Much more solid running that way. :thumb:
  6. Thoroughbreed

    Thoroughbreed Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've done that with some old AHM and Tyco cars, and the AHM's are the hardest, cause you have to shim up the boxes:thumb:
  7. shaygetz

    shaygetz Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm with every one else, snip those little boogers off and body mount them. After your first couple and the help of Kadee's coupler gauge, you'll be a pro at it. I've done it with Tycos, Life-Likes and toy Bachmanns with equal success, even working on 2 Tycos as I type...:thumb:
  8. YmeBP

    YmeBP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    O.k. i do have a kadee gauge i'll go experiment today. Any links or searches in the forum for tips and tricks to body mounting?
  9. shaygetz

    shaygetz Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    On these particular cars I did today, snipping the talgos off left me with unusually high end beams. Still, they were overcome with a stack of two pieces of .030" styrene with an additional .025" piece for the front car. I glue them in place with styrene cement then mount them with a small screw. Sometimes the screw is not possible, I've found that they will hold up well in a 30+ car train on our club layout though I highly recommend putting a screw in when possible. Now I'll hit them with a touch of paint and they're ready to go.

    [​IMG]