Using flex track

nolink5750

Oct 12, 2007
Anyone have pics of how there track looks at the joiners? It looks like I need to cut off 1 tie at each end of the flex track which leaves a big gap. Do you cut the cut off ties into pieces and just glue it in place?
Anyone have pics????????? Thanks........

Rector

Mar 1, 2007
Wainscott, New York
That's a very good question. Without removing the end tie the rail joiner simply won't push on to the rail. As you can tell I am also new to Flex-track. Help, anyone?

Gary S.

Oct 13, 2005
Texas
Not at home so no pics. But yes, you do have to remove ties from the ends, then get the track in place, either nailed or glued or caulked. For me, I go back later once the glue has dried, and add the extra ties in. Now, be careful about just pushing ties underneath. The joiners sit lower than the bottom of the rails, so you need to do one of two things. The new ties either have to be sanded down, or they need to be cut into 3 pieces, the middle inside the track and the ends on the outside. Then glue them in place.

I started out doing the sanding method, but it was too much work. I use the cutting method now. Once the track is ballasted, you can't even tell.

This would make a good subject for a pictorial tutorial.

TruckLover

Mack CH613 & 53' Trailer
Apr 14, 2006
Rancho Santa Margarita, Cali.
Not at home so no pics. But yes, you do have to remove ties from the ends, then get the track in place, either nailed or glued or caulked. For me, I go back later once the glue has dried, and add the extra ties in. Now, be careful about just pushing ties underneath. The joiners sit lower than the bottom of the rails, so you need to do one of two things. The new ties either have to be sanded down, or they need to be cut into 3 pieces, the middle inside the track and the ends on the outside. Then glue them in place.