Usa Rs4tc-1

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by oldtanker, Nov 13, 2006.

  1. oldtanker

    oldtanker Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know if there is a US Army RS4TC-1 48T available in HO? There were 2 of them at Ft Knox while I was there that they used to to move the flats around while we were rail heading tanks to go to NTC, Canada and Ft Bliss for training. One was shipped out on a flat car for rebuild while I was there, it left with a black paint job, while running smoked very bad and at idle had oil running down the sides of the exhaust. It came back on a flat and was red and ran great.

    I plan part to put part of an Army base on my layout and would like to have one.


    Thanks

    Rick
  2. Triplex

    Triplex Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    A few quick Google searches say "no".
  3. oldtanker

    oldtanker Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was afraid of that, couldn't find one on Yahell, thanks.

    Rick
  4. eightyeightfan1

    eightyeightfan1 Now I'm AMP'd

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you use another type of loco?
    Ft Hood had a GP-9 and an SW1500 when I was there. They were painted black also.
  5. oldtanker

    oldtanker Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    eightyeight, yes I could, but it would be nice to find one like I saw working the rail head at Ft Knox....by the way the info I found while I was looking at the engines that the Army has used they listed a as diesel locos were Rs4tc-1, 80 Ton Center Cab, EMD 100 Ton SW8 and EMD 120 ton GP type Locomotives.

    I'm not sure that is all but it is all I found.

    Rick
  6. LongIslandTom

    LongIslandTom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's a U.S. Army locomotive that should be VERY easy for you to kitbash and paint...

    Just grab an Athearn GP40-2, cut back the dynamic brake housing a bit, add the details like the air conditioner, sunshades, rooftop beacon, horn, etc., shoot it up with red paint, apply the Microscale decal set MC-4278, and you are all set. :thumb:

    Hoo-ah!

    Attached Files:

  7. oldtanker

    oldtanker Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tom that sounds good but I have never kit bashed anything in my life....LOL. I would like to get a switcher sized engine because of the size of my layout.

    And now to show how much I don't know, what is the dynamic brake housing?

    Thanks

    Rick
  8. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,942
    Likes Received:
    0

    its the blister in the middle of the roof. there is usually only one fan there on GP style diesels. SD types will have a longer blister with 2 fans.

    on the army switcher, the beginning of the blister is cut away.
  9. LongIslandTom

    LongIslandTom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oldtanker:

    The GP40-2 is a road switcher... I think it's a good compromise between a huge full-sized 6-axle road locomotive vs. a tiny switcher. Pretty much any Geep will look good on a small layout. Basically, the Geeps are to railroads what Jeeps was to the Army-- They are both general purpose! :D

    But if you got your heart set on a tiny, tiny locomotive, you can grab an S-2 from Atlas... Atlas released the exact S-2 below in March this year:

    Attached Files:

  10. oldtanker

    oldtanker Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Green. With the size of my layout I am planning on GP 38's or 40's for my main power.

    Tom that would fill the bill just about perfect, thanks for the info.
  11. LongIslandTom

    LongIslandTom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since Atlas's S-2 locos are limited-runs, you probably want to jump on them quick. Once sold out, it'll be a PITA to find them in the particular paint scheme you want, and most likely one will have to resort to Flea-bay.

    I would get those Atlas S-2's from M.B. Klein. They got two different U.S. Army road numbers for the S-2, at $60 each:

    U.S. Army #7135: http://www.modeltrainstuff.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=ATL-8821

    U.S. Army #7371: http://www.modeltrainstuff.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=ATL-8822
  12. oldtanker

    oldtanker Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok Tom thanks for the link.

    Rick
  13. oldtanker

    oldtanker Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just found out that there will be a Train Show and Swap Meet in St Cloud MN on the 2nd of Dec! I'm going to wait until then before buying anything. This will be a 1st for me! Just wish I lived closer to a hobby shop....gotta drive 90 miles to get to one.


    Thanks for all the help!

    Rick
  14. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    better try and get that Staten Island RR switcher.
  15. LongIslandTom

    LongIslandTom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have to admit I'm addicted to Atlas stuff.. Their engines just runs sooo nice!

    I'm maxed out this year as far as budget goes though... So far this year I bought 3 Atlas B40-8 locos... a Susquehanna and two Conrails.

    Yet another "Do you REALLY need another locomotive?" conundrum! :D
  16. oldtanker

    oldtanker Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I really need another locomotive....or 2....or 3....I'll just hide it in the renovation money from the house....she will never know!!!!
  17. pgandw

    pgandw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    0
    NEWS FLASH from the Coastal Oregonian:

    The PG&W's and TH&B's Board of Directors (joint boards and cross-membership was still allowed in the pre-anti-trust days of 1900) have told the Chief Engineer that until the number of engineers expands, the number of locomotives will not exceed 8 and 5 respectively. If the Chief Engineer feels that there are more appropriate locomotives available, and operating funds support the purchase, new locomotives may be procured IF AND ONLY IF an existing locomotive is sold.


    Actually, the dictate is not that harsh. Selling the locos I like the least helps to pay for the new lust of my eye. And the numbers are still more than I would likely actually use even if the layout ever reaches its planned final expansion.

    my thoughts, your choices
  18. oldtanker

    oldtanker Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    pg....thats what I'm going to do, I have a Proto 2000 that is too big for my curves so that is going for whatever I can find at the swap meet or on here. I have pics of it but don't know how to add them in an existing thread.

    Rick
  19. oldtanker

    oldtanker Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pictures of the Proto 2000

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]