Two vs three rails

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by dpfresch, Feb 6, 2006.

1. dpfresch

dpfresch New Member

Hello,[​IMG]

I’m new to the Gauge.

I’m in the planning stages for building an O gauge layout. My question pertains to two-rail verses three. It would be very easy for me to commit to either two or three-rail, at this time. I like the looks of two-rail; however, I'm concerned that I will be too limited as to what trains I can run.

I would certainly appreciate advice from any of you who have puzzled over this same dilemma. Are the two-railers out there happy with your decision? Would any of the three-rail operators choose two if they were starting from scratch?

Thanks,

Paul
  2. spankybird

spankybird OTTS Founder

HI Paul,

Welcome to 'The Gague' forum.

Yes two rail does have its appeal. Most people that does 2 rail is into very scale and detailed. This also bring in the high end cost and large radius of your track. Also 2 rail runs on DC (like OH) and not AC like most 3 railers. This would mean that rolling stock from 3 rail would have to be converted to two rail and insulate your wheels.

Hope this helps

:wave:
  3. dpfresch

dpfresch New Member

Thanks, Tom.
    Do you know if all two-rail is DC? I know that two-rail requires that one rail be powered and one ground; whereas, with three rails the outer rails are ground and the center is powered. Hence the need to electrically isolate the wheels on the left and right side with two-rail to prevent a short circuit. But, I didn't realize that this couldn't be done while still using AC power? I must admit I don't know much about the flow of electrons:oops:
    Thanks,
    Paul
  4. spankybird

spankybird OTTS Founder

I hate to say 'never' because someone comes along and says they are doing it, so I will say that I don't know of anyone useing AC on 2 rail.sign1
  5. wrmcclellan

wrmcclellan Member