Turnout Problems

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by planeshavings42, Jul 24, 2002.

  1. planeshavings42

    planeshavings42 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have atlas #6 turnouts, HO gauge, and after about a month of running my layout, I'm losing power past the frog of two switch's... Any suggestions? AT&SF Duey :confused: By the by, I just permenantly glued down my track this past week.
  2. Vic

    Vic Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Dewey, Doesn't sound like glueing the track down caused it. I suspect that the problem is in the rail joiners. Check them at the point end and the frog end of the turnouts. If prior to glueing the track down you took the turnouts up and put them back down several times the joiners may have become loose and don't make good contact anymore. Consider soldering the joints on the outside of the rails. Hope this helped:)
  3. marty w.

    marty w. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had the same problem and I had to add jumper wires to power the offending rail.

    Marty
  4. alkcnw

    alkcnw Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Duey, Check the Atlas forum site, Their are a lot of people there with the same problem, and it seems that Atlas isn't doing much about it. They do have a few solutions to the problem. I ordered 4 #4 turnouts before I read about the problem, Out of four one was bad so I sent all of them back. I have used Atlas track and turnouts for a long time, but since it dosn't seem like they are doing any thing to rectify the problem I have switched to Walthers. The problem usually happens after the track is mounted and ballest, for me thats way to late!!:eek:
  5. cidchase

    cidchase Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Duey,
    Some of these switches are reported to have high frogs. I suspicion that this could cause some of the apparent loss of continuity if a non-pickup wheel resting on the (insulated) frog could lift the pickup wheel off the track.
    Of course, this wouldn't apply if you have actually measured a loss of voltage or continuity on the track.
    Just a thought,
    :D :D
  6. Vic

    Vic Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,771
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's so puzzling:confused: is that they worked for awhile:confused: :confused: :eek:
  7. planeshavings42

    planeshavings42 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    PROBLEM SOLVED

    Thanx to all for the Many good ideas, Marty hit the nail on the head, I soldered a thin wire from the frog rail to the rail that had lost power, and all is well. Apparently the crimped rivet where the frog swivels, had a poor or dirty connection. The solder solution was much easier than tearing up the turnout. Thank you, Thank you. I love this forum.... AT&SF Duey :)
  8. marty w.

    marty w. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem seems to be that rivet is not "crushed" enough.

    The turnout is OK once out of the box, but after a period of use it works it way loose.

    Marty
  9. planeshavings42

    planeshavings42 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exactly Marty, I tried to tap down the tangs on a spare I had, and I ruined the switch, so then I got your e-mail and your advise worked perfectly. Tks Again....AT&SF Duey