Trying to save Plus Series 2-8-0 Consolidation

Bachmann_I10sa

Feb 5, 2005
Hello all, I'm a little new to the whole model railroading circuit (and new on here altogether), and I'm at a loss for finding parts. All I know is that Bachmann says they don't make the part I need anymore.

Nevertheless, I am desperately trying to fix this old Bachmann Plus Series 2-8-0 (I-10sa), #1257 on the cab, Great Northern road name. The same engine was also available in black under the Reading RR with #2019 on the cab (I have that one too). Problem is this: The drive axle on the rearmost wheels cracked and broke from age and use (train is estimated to be about 20-25 years old). I got it secondhand from ebay. The motor runs great, and it's in beautiful cosmetic shape....all I need is a new plastic drive axle and it would be all set to run again. If anyone knows where I can buy this old part, or HAS one (or more) that he/she wants to sell, please let me know. It's a beautiful train, and I'd hate to have to junk it because of a broken plastic part.

I know these engines are really old, but I love the I-10sa steamers and like having them on my layout. Please, again, any help would be profoundly appreciated.

Attachments

• 1257oneA.bmp
    63.8 KB · Views: 129

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site
I think the molds for that locomotive were destroyed in a fire. I think that is the reason why Bachmann made the Baldwin 2-8-0 in the Spectrum line. They needed to make new molds for a 2-8-0. You might contact Northwest Shortline. They make repowering kits and gears for a bunch of different locomotives.

Bachmann_I10sa

Feb 5, 2005
Thanks for the help, guys. If all else fails, my brother has a resin-molding kit and may be able to mold a new gear that way (though I don't know how strong it will be). Thanks again

Bachmann_I10sa

Feb 5, 2005