Trix U30C engine problems

foxman

Dec 29, 2001
Visit site
I have recently purchased an older trix U30C (it was made in mid to late 70s) and decided to put MT couplers on it. When I put it back together it didn't work. I have done everything I could think of to get to work, but to no avail.
This loco design has a circuit board under the fuel tank and the pickups are small copper stips attached to the wheel assembly.
I am at a lose. I tested the motor and it still works but cannot for the life of me figure out how to get power to and from the motor.
This was a great runner and I would hate to lose it.
Does anybody have any experience with this type of loco, or know of anybody that I could contact or email or is there a web site or anything???
I can email pictures of the setup if needed.
I really frustrated with this...
Please help!!!

foxman

kettlestack

Jan 18, 2002
Scotland UK
Visit site
Hi Foxman,
Although I have no experience with that particular make of model other than steam locos in N gauge I might be able to provide a few pointers.
1) Post a picture of the disassembled loco into this thread. Others may then input their ideas.
2) As it is was made so long ago the circuit board is probably just a diode assembly to make the headlights work according to direction of travel.
3) Ensure that no metal parts on the circuit board can come into contact with the (possibly) metal chassis. ie, avoid short circuits on it.
4) As you told us that all you did was fit Kadee couplers either the metal coupler itself or the screw you used may be causing a short. (we don't know the nature of the chassis used in your loco).

All said and done there's nothing like a photo to let us know the nature of things so that we can take it from there.
Also let us know if you have a continuity meter or multimeter at your disposal. Also tell us what gauge it is.

Between the lot of us here, I'm sure we can have your loco back in working order.

Keep in touch.

Errol

Drew1125

Jan 28, 2001