Trees

13Mtrainer

Aug 21, 2004
central pa
this is my first atempt at scenery and i have small hills and i was wondering how to make cheap trees out of house hold things?

i need alot of trees for very little money. thanks in advance

13Mt:)

they also need to look nice and realistic

trains1972

Sep 1, 2004
philadelphia, pa
pg.photos.yahoo.com
I am making evergreen trees from an old christmas tree or wreath. I untwisted the branch and cut them to the shape of pine trees. Then I dipped them into water down glue and then into the green ground cover. I got about 10 dozen trees so far and it still looks like it could be use as a christmas tree. I am making n scale trees this is my first try they got better with pactice.
Starting picture.
im0032260iq.jpg

Finished picture.
im0032330qa.jpg

jetrock

Dec 18, 2003
Visit site
If it's not too late to score on any Christmas-clearance sales, if you want a big pine forest, score a plastic Christmas tree and hack apart the branches with a bolt cutter. Trim the needles with tin snips to a tree-like taper, spray with adhesive and dip in scenic foam. The wreath trees above look pretty good--the idea is similar, but on a larger scale.

Other tree materials: bumpy chenille, or pieces of cut-up furnace filter stuck on a bamboo barbecue skewer (needs painting.)

Take a look around your yard and try to find plants or weeds whose stalks look like tiny trees. Cut them up, let them dry out and apply scenic foam (just make sure it's not your wife's gardening pride and joy--otherwise you might find your favorite engine smashed to bits with a baseball bat...)

spitfire

Jul 28, 2002
Toronto, Canada
www.parkdaleyard.com
Hi 13MT. A great way to get a lot of trees in a hurry is not to model each single tree. For a forested hillside for example, all you do is plant the trunks (which can be made out of small real branches) in the hillside, and then cover the whole thing with that stretchy green stuff they sell at the LHS.