Train kills Toronto pedestrian

spitfire

Jul 28, 2002
Toronto, Canada
www.parkdaleyard.com
I read this on the Toronto Star's website, but the details are very scanty.

The man, 56, was struck by a train Monday night on the CPR tracks near Spadina and Dupont.

Police say that man was on the CP tracks around 9:37 p.m. when he was hit by a westbound train.

The man was pronounced dead when emergency personnel arrived.

The victim's identity is being withheld pending notification of next-of-kin.

If I hear anything more I will let you all know.

Val

Ralph

Remember...it's for fun!
Jun 18, 2002
St. Paul, MN
Visit site
Once in a while in TRAINS magazine you'll read an account by an engineer whose loco struck some one. The crew always feels awful as you'd imagine. I'm not sure what more can be said to get people to be more careful around the tracks. Sad for everyone, the victim's family, the crew, the surrounding community...
Ralph

emt49

Jan 5, 2005
binghamton
i have been a EMT for 7 years now. i have seen two people hit by trains the frist one i had a chance to talk to the engineer. he told me it was his 2nd person in a month i felt bad for the guy you could tell he was upset but what could he do nothing thay dont stop on a dime .

interurban

Aug 21, 2002
Pickering. Ontario. Canada.
Visit site
It`s sad to say the Toronto Subway system have at least one suicide a week, more near the Christmas time.

These people more often than not come through the cab window or part of them do :(

This system HAS got to be up and running asap, the danger of the overflow of passengers on a platform is paramount!

I read a while ago the TTC was trying to get the investigation done, in as fast and human time as possible.
The EM Police and Coroner agreed, I hope they have it set up now.

This is a very Sad , but it is something that cannot be forseen. :(

Pooh Bah
Mar 25, 2002
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Visit site