Track Testing

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by Tim K, Jan 10, 2006.

  1. Tim K

    Tim K Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    What Engine do you use to test your layout to make sure the
    track is free of problems , I have read that some engines were fussier than
    others and thought I might pick one up just for testing my layout.


    Thanks
    Tim K
  2. yellowlynn

    yellowlynn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2001
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use a good running cheapie right off, the faster the better. If the track is screwed up and prone to derailing, I'll soon find out. Only AFTER I know the rail is pretty good, then I get down to thr nitty-gritty of fine tuning the track. After all this, I make sure of ample connection to keep my good one creeping smooth.

    Lynn
  3. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Steamers generally find more problems than diesels... longer cars find more than shorter, etc, etc.

    Andrew
  4. Russ Bellinis

    Russ Bellinis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,707
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you are running diesels, an Alco PA has about the longest wheelbase trucks around unless it is the Athearn U.P. DD40. I've found an Alco P.A. with a string of 85 foot passenger cars behind it will find any track problems you might have.
  5. jim currie

    jim currie Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    i use a old brass decapod(2-10-0) that has all drivers flanged if there is the least little problem with the track off she goes:)
  6. Tim K

    Tim K Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guy's



    Tim k
  7. eightyeightfan1

    eightyeightfan1 Now I'm AMP'd

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    0
    After a major accident(My super detailed GP-60 flew off the edge of the layout), I now use a cheapie loco to check for bad spots in the track and test electrical connections.
  8. Russ Bellinis

    Russ Bellinis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry to hear about your gp60. I think a piece of masonite fastened to the edge of any new track work to keep rolling stock from diving to the floor would be good hindsight to use until you are confident that a piece of track won't derail equipment and send it to the floor.
  9. b28_82

    b28_82 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've found that I run into most problems at the club using my C44-9 Athearn Locos when going around tight curves they grind a lot and sometimes jump off the tracks.