Track Cleaning

Prof1000

Hi I am new to this hobby and am having trouble with trains stopping on tracks then they go with a little push. I am planning to clean the track with Goo Gone or wet baby wipes. I would wrap them over a small piece of plywood and do the whole track layout. I also heard that the pink school erasers are good. Any help would be appreciated thanks.

Brian

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Haven't tried baby wipes... That's a new one for me!

Basically, try to stay away from anything abrasive (including the much touted "Bright Boy") unless absolutely necessary. A soft cloth wetted with isopropyl alcohol is a good start.

Don't forget that the locomotive wheels (on the engine and/or tender as applicable) that pick up power should also be cleaned.

Andrew

Nomad

Prof, I use goo-gone and it does a good job for me, followed with sparing amounts of Whal clipper oil. I would not use the baby wipes because most of them contain oils that will trap the dirt and not conduct electricity. Whals does not seem to trap the dirt and it does conduct electricity.
Also, the pink erasers seem to crumble, meaning you would have to vacuum the track after cleaning or the eraser particles might get into the locomotive gears and cause problems.

Loren

RobertInOntario

Wahl oil does do a good job in cleaning the track. However, if you run any locos that have traction tires, this can cause a problem. The wahl oil expands the rubber traction tires making them too large and useless (I know from experience and it took me months to find replacement ones!!).

Place a few small drops of wahl oil on the track, then run one of your heavier locos around a few times, and keep wiping up the dirt. You'll have to wipe up the crud from the track as well as the loco's wheels. It's a little messy and takes quite a bit time to wipe up all the crud, but it does work well. This is what I would call a thorough cleaning