Track Bed

Old_Bob

Nov 4, 2006
Eagle, CO
Newbie here, obviously. Trying out the site as much as anything this time. My only experience with HO gauge is a simple oval under a Christmas tree, a Bachmann set I bought at ACE Hardware. I fastened it down to a 1/2" plywood base. But that was some time ago.

No layout as yet - still a dream for the place we will be moving to in CO sometime soon. I'm thinking in terms of a near eyelevel shelf layout around a good size basement room, but something simple for starters.

Question is about roadbed. In my case, a decorative veneer plywood base seems right since the bottom will be visible. I am a retiring contractor and cabinetwork is old hat to me. Some folks here talk about extruded foam and Homesote under the tracks.

Why? For sound deadening? Any reason to use both? I would prefer to not mess with foam, unless I want to do some carving in the landscape. Is the Homesote enough to keep the plywood from resonating? Is it necessary for the spikes? I'm thinking I would like to use flex track as much as practical.

Are there stock roadbed materials that could be used instead of Homesote, or in addition to it? That might be a problem with long radius curves. I can envision the Homesote being dusty to cut into roadbed width. With this elevated roadbed, I will have to get creative with electrical connections to hide them, but I'm confident I can do that.

Bob

Pooh Bah
Mar 25, 2002
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Visit site
Hi Bob. welcome in.
My own practice is to use Homasote without the sub-roadbed. (But that's me). Homasote had the advantage of being reasonably solid and holding nails or screws well. You can push spikes in with a small pair of pliers and then remove them. There seem to be varying opinions about its reaction to moisture -- I've never had a problem.
Worst problem with Homasote is the dust when it's sawn. It should really be cut to roadbed width with a ballast slope on it.