Track - Atlas versus Peco or Micro Engineering

Rusty Lugnut

Turbo-Geek
Howdy All. I'm a newbie here. I recently got back into model railroading as I'm transitioning into my second childhood. My son is obsessed with all things train. So after a few decades, I dusted off my trains and tools, and got back into it.

I have gotten into N scale because of space limitations...or...more truthfully because I wanted a big ol' layout in the same space I could only do something modest in with HO.

My question is about what track to use. I just finished a Timesaver switching layout using Atlas code 80. It runs pretty smooth. I had to do some work on the switches, and got a little momentarily frustrated here and there with the quality of them, but at the end of the day the trains run fine. My goal was to make something my boy could play with while I'm working on my big layout, and also something to take to my club's train shows. Oh...and re-sharpen my skills at the same time.

I had started acquiring Atlas code 55 for my big layout. The guys at the hobby shop had talked me into it. I'll say it looks great. And they offer everything I need to build the layout I've designed. But a couple of guys at my club have given stern warning about Atlas track, claiming it's pretty much junk, and since we're getting ready to build an N scale layout there, it's a pretty hot topic of discussion.

My dilemma is - I've already bought a fair amount of Atlas 55 track to get started. Sure, I can unload it on eBay, or at a show, but I won't get back what I paid for it. I also know that Peco of Micro Engineering is just about twice as expensive as the Atlas.

So...I figured it'd be a good first thread for me here to open the floor for discussion on this and see what everyone else's experience and opinion is.

Thanks!

Trainiac77