Total newbie!

spitfire

Jul 28, 2002
Toronto, Canada
www.parkdaleyard.com
Hi Everyone,

I just bought my first loco on Friday - a Proto 2000 SW9 in CN livery! I thought I wanted steam but the detailing on this baby is not to be believed, and since I'm modelling the mid 1950s just about anything goes.

Up til now I've been building a diorama, I'm hooked on model factories, and little tiny people walking down the streets of my minature city. Due to boring personal reasons :rolleyes: I've had a lot of time on my hands, and building this thing has been totally fun.

I've got streetcar tracks along the front and RR tracks along the back, so of course I needed a train....

Now I guess I'll need to power the sucker up so I can see how she handles.
heh heh heh...

C

Catt

Hi ya Spitfire welcome to the Gauge.Now ya need a camera so you can show the rest of us what your up to.:D

K.V.Div

May 10, 2001
Shawnigan Lake, B.C. Canada
Visit site
Welcome to the Gauge spitfire. Great start for a motive power choice, as you can't go wrong with a Proto 2000 unit.
If you are working on a diorama then be sure to put in some industries and business that you can carry out switching operations with and if you have any questions, remember that the dumbest question in existance is the one which was never asked and the gauge is full of model railroaders who are more than willing to help you out.
BTW, If you are looking for steam power, Hobbycraft Canada will soon be releasing the (I beleve) final run of the excelent Proto 2000 0-8-0 steam switcher in both CN and CP lettering.
Have a great one and happy modeling:D :D :D.

Terry

Drew1125

Jan 28, 2001
Hi Spitfire!
Welcome to The Gauge!:)
That's a great locomotive you've got...I've got three of those, in both N scale, & HO.
I'm really into building dioramas too.
My current layout is an industrial switching layout in N scale, & I built it like a diorama. It's very small...on a shelf approx. 1x5 feet.