Total Newbie needs information

terencevs

Hi All

My name is Terence van Schalkwyk and I am from Cape Town South Africa. I have always been fascinated with Model Trains and it is time for me to start the hobby!

Back in my day when I was still young round about 13 I helped build I steam engine railway around a dam in my local town. (Don’t have a clue what gauge it was, pretty big though) I can post some photos if you like... That’s where the interest started!

I want to build a HO set-up. And that’s about what I know!

Is there a website I can go to which will explain some basics to me?

Someone can sell me something and tell me it is something else and I will believe them, as I am clueless!

I have been reading this forum for the last two days non-stop and have become so inspired! So can you please help me?

webmaster

Feb 17, 2006
Surrey, UK
www.budgetwebsiteservices.co.uk
Hi Terence, welcome to the Gauge!

Well you have decided on HO gauge, so really the next step is to decide what country & what period in time you would like to model. You don't have to be too specific in the time period, some people, myself included, like to model over a few decades. Eg. mine is 1970's - 2000.

The continent if fairly important as this will dictate which manufacturers you use for your rolling stock.

terencevs

Thanks webmaster

Hi

Thanks for the quick response!

I want to go with the 1950s, North America theme.

I want to have a small town and leads out to a coal mine and also a lumber mill.

I also want to focus lots of detail within the town and surrounding area.

Terence

Dave Flinn

Dec 26, 2000
Lansing, NY USA
www.lehighvalleyrr.com
Welcome, Terrence. It's nice to see someone from South Africa. I was there back in 1987, and would like to go back now to see how things have changed; but that's not the topic at hand.