Total newb questions...

Dorkmaster Flek

Jan 5, 2007
Toronto, ON
WHOOP! WHOOP! NEWB ALERT! THIS IS NOT A DRILL! :p So I'm basically a big newb when it comes to model trains, which is funny considering our family history. Some brief background might be in order, which has very little to do with my questions, but it seems you all like stories about how people get started. You can skip past the back story below if you want.

<backstory>

Model trains have basically been a family tradition on my dad's side. Him and my uncles, as well as several of my cousins, are all into them in varying degrees. My cousins (as well as my dad) mainly like to put them up at Christmas time, whereas one of my uncles (we call him the "crazy" one) maintains one or more semi-permanent layouts on a regular basis. I always enjoyed them, but I was never really into doing them myself. That is, until we visited my "crazy" uncle this year and he had two very nice N scale layouts going (he gets into the whole modelling aspect like building mountains out of Styrofoam, etc). For some reason, I got "the itch" this time. I mentioned to my mom that this was something I could see myself doing when I was retired as a fun hobby, but she said if I wanted to get into it, I should learn all about it and start doing it now while I still have the family "experts" around to learn from.