to make a double deck or not......

Jun 18, 2004
barboursville, wv
hello guys, hope everyone is doing good. im at a point in my layout that if im gonna add a lower stageing yard, i need to do it now. i have never done anything like this before, so i need some information. my current benchwork is 48" from the ground. my benchwork is open grid and also around the room shelf style of 2' wide. should i add a second lower stageing level? if so, how far should the two levels be apart? also, how much running length do i need to get down to it? should it have an up route as well as a down route? any information pertaining to this is very much appreciated. thanks!:rolleyes:

TrainClown

Apr 17, 2003
Saskatchewan, Canada
Visit site
Hi Steve

If you look at your plan carfully you will see that all the info you need is there. I made the staging yard one foot below the main level. There are seporate entrance and exit tracks in my design. I suppose you could rig it so both ascending and decending tracks were on the same ramp, but then you would have to have a track going all the way back to the start of the staging yard again on the lower level. I think the way I have it worked out for you is better.

You could also make it lower than one foot, but then your in for a very long ramp indeed, or some steep grades. The grade I supplyed is 3%. Your trains should run up this okay, but any steeper and you wont pull much of a train up it.