things to remember about sidings

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by ozzy, Dec 20, 2006.

  1. ozzy

    ozzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    know matter how long you think you need, DOUBLE IT!... i am not taking up glued down track to make it longer, and im turning it into a block to park trains on it. and adding remote switch machines to the 2 switches.
    :D
  2. ozzy

    ozzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    well i thought i was goingto turn my atlas switches to remotes, but i guess you cant
  3. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    What seems to be the problem...?

    Any switch can be made remote, although some are more difficult than others.

    Andrew


    Andrew
  4. ozzy

    ozzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    no way to conect the switch machine i got , to the track. no screws, or back plates. , after i got home , the new switch machines says replacment, you use the old plates and screws from the old machine i guess.
  5. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got any pictures? Which Atlas switches are you using? Part numbers?

    Andrew
  6. ozzy

    ozzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    I should have asked you for the switch machine number too... ;) :D

    Andrew
  8. Russ Bellinis

    Russ Bellinis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    The link was to Atlas Custom Line switches. I suspect you bought a machine for a snap switch. The snap switches are set up to mount a machine on to of the switch right next to the throw bar, but Custom Line needs an under table machine or a manual ground throw.

    What did you put your track down with? Why do you have to take it all up to make it longer. Can't you just remove any bumper you've installed and extend the siding?
  9. ozzy

    ozzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    its a siding, not a dead end. i will pull a train onto it where the depot is (or will be) unload/load then pull on out back to the mainline out the other end. i have it set up to park a train there while i move one around the main line to.
  10. ozzy

    ozzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    looks like i will just have to buy new switches with the remote already there, thats what i wanted to do anyway buy my LHS was out of them.
  11. ozzy

    ozzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    the ones that mount to the side of track.
  12. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think in this case, Russ is right. You have indeed bought the wrong switch machine.

    BUT - if it is like the HO parts, you can use it by inverting it and installing on the underside of the turnout, or by simply fastening it to the benchwork and running a brass wire to the throw bar of the turnout.

    If however, they are still in new condition, you should be able to exchange them at the store.

    Andrew
  13. ozzy

    ozzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    i opened one, the other is unpoened, at almost 9.00 a pop, ill be taking the unopened one back next time i go, or save in for if/when one of my others on the layout go bad i guess
  14. Russ Bellinis

    Russ Bellinis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    The ones you got are far better quality than the snap switches. The snap switches are much closer to toylike. I've always had problems with the points stayig in gauge on the snap switches.