The O27 Design My Layout Challenge

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by Cannonball, Dec 17, 2006.

  1. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Two 4x8 plywood boards for benchwork. Either L shape or 8x8 box
    4 remote control switches (2 RH and 2 LH)
    One 90 cross
    One 45 cross
    One bumper
    All the O27 track you need but no half curves or straights.

    Ready?


    GO!

    Yeah.... OK. this is just my cheesey way of asking for design ideas since I'm clueless.
    This is the best I came up with.
    (My figure 8 is off because I used straights and curves to make switches and the crosspiece.)
    Edit: Oops... One too many switches. None left for the side rail and bumper.

    Attached Files:

  2. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like this better except I'm gonna run out of straight pieces before it's finished.
    (And I've used all 4 switches so there's nowhere to use my lighted bumper. :( )

    Attached Files:

  3. spankybird

    spankybird OTTS Founder

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whoah! :eek:

    Here's a few more I came up with.
    They all stem from the same basic idea but I keep adding to it.

    Attached Files:

  5. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    One last one that didn't load.

    Attached Files:

  6. Dave Farquhar

    Dave Farquhar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cannonball, if you run out of O27 straights and need more, PM me.
  7. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure I'm more worried about straights or remote switches. :D
    I need at least 3 more for that last layout. I came up with one layout that left me 5 short.
    Thank god for eBay when it comes to remote switches.
  8. Dave Farquhar

    Dave Farquhar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually I've got some Lionel 1121 remote switches that I don't expect I'll ever use again. I know I have one pair that work well, plus at least one more. Not sure if its RH or LH. I have to use Marx switches on my layout because my Lionel locos like Marx switches better than my Marx locos like those 1121s.
  9. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have a PM.

    You know.....
    I got to thinkin'.
    I should probably go measure my basement before I decide to put to 8x4 sheets of plywood down there for a layout. Might be a good chance there's nowhere to go with 12ft on one side.
  10. raybanduchi

    raybanduchi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can I axe what software you guys were using?
  11. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    RTS 7.0 Freeware
    Unfortunately, it doesn't give me all the options I need with the size of track I'm using so I have to fudge a bit and create my own by overlaping pieces. (The Altas O 21st Century library has no 90 crossovers or 27" switches.)
  12. raybanduchi

    raybanduchi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanx

    I've tried to download Atlas Os freeware no less than 10 times, it keeps telling me it will send directions to my email, ... but I finally figured out they won't call, the check ain't in the mail and respect me in the morning---Huh!!!!