Tame The Pain

hooknlad

Mar 28, 2005
Woodbridge, NJ USA
wave.gif
Has anyone ever heard of the "Tame the Pain" program advertised by Jerry Lewis? If not, it's a gizmo that gets implanted into your spinal column and it sends out an electrical impulse to "fake" out the nerves that are giving you trouble. I have had surgery 3 years ago on my lower back and i have had 3 discs removed. Now I live on heavy duty narcotics and it make my life a living hell with no ambition to work on my railroad empire.
I was just wondering if any fellow model railroaders have had this implant or know of this procedure. I know that once installed, it will set off all types of security systems - lol . I work as an electrician and im afraid of any errant signal making the implanted system go haywire. The system implanted on a trial basis for 1 week is alledgedly 30% effective. However, there is a 30% chance of paralysis.
cry.gif
I want to be able to go into this thing with a clear head and im about 80% certain that i want to go through with this procedure.

Thanx for any input.

Clerk

Nov 6, 2002
Esparto, California
Visit site
Hi Michael. ...I have tried a gizmo that has leads connected to my back and the wires going to the main thingy connected to my belt. It sends small electrical pulses to the pain area and let me tell you, IT WORKED WONDERFUL. My physical therapist tried to order one for me but just like some of the railroad internet stores, it never came and follow throughs went into space. So I continue taking pain pills which reduce the pain a little.
This is my experience, It was a demo they loaned me.

Ray Marinaccio

Aug 4, 2003
Dewey Az.
Visit site
I had tried the TENS device like Clerk mentioned for my hand and arm pain. It actually made things worse and it was decided that it wasn't the proper treatment for Reflex sympathetic dystrophy and Complex Regional Pain Syndrome.