Tabs or Butt joints

Tabs or butt joints?

• Tabs

Votes: 12 50.0%
  • Butt Joints

Votes: 12 50.0%

• Total voters

piginapoke

I'm not an experienced modeller but I'm keen to know how popular butt joint method of joining paper pieces together is. I see it on commercial kits a lot but how popular is it with modellers here?

Please vote.

Thanks
Robin

Lighter

I did my vote for butt joints, BUT it's really more complicated than that. I butt join cylinders, but put a splice plate behind the joint. And so forth for any butt joint - some (or a lot) reinforcement. If the plane changes than I do use a tab which doesn't draw attention to the joint.

cafe

I tend to prefer butt joints too even if my models are a mix of tabs and butt joints.

micahrogers

Moderator "Where am I, and how did I get here?"
Staff member
I voted tabs cause I'm still learning to do butt joints, the few butt joints I have made have had a strip to reinforce behind.

Rhaven Blaack

!!!THE MAN BEHIND THE CURTAIN!!!
Staff member
Administrator
I use both. Reason for being, it depends upon the model that I am building and why I am building it (i.e. If I am building it for the first time (to get to know how the model works, and what all I have to play with), I will use tabs. If I am building it for someone or a competition, I will use butt joints).

oriod01

I have to agree that both have their place. As @Lighter stated, with a plane change, tabs are fine, no need for a butt joint. More organic surfaces like the subtle curve of a face or dome of a helmet, a butt joint is the only way you will achieve a smooth, clean, tight build.

mbauer

Cardstock Model designer
Vote for tabs as faster & weigh less. Less weight is good for flying.....For looks: Butt Joints are best.

Mike

zathros

*****SENIOR ADMINISTRATOR*****
Staff member
Administrator
Tabs work, if the thickness of the paper is compensated for when bent. People rarely do that, so my vote goes for Butt joints. I tend to prefer nice butts anyways. :)