Table Saw v Miter Saw

rockislandmike

Nov 6, 2001
Edmonton AB
dayfornight.qazam.com
Hey guys, my brother beat me to the punch on a digital camera, so I get the old family one for eternity. I was sort of looking forward to a new camera, but the one I have now does the trick.

Sssooooo . . . I'm considering either a table saw or a compound miter saw, and thought I'd get your opinions on which to spring for.

My biggest concern is my lumber loads; I've gotten significant orders in the last couple weeks already, to the point I really don't wanna bother my father-in-law to cut them down for me anymore. I know the tablesaw would do them fine (they start out as 2x6's, and I cut them down in all three directions), but I think the miter saw would be a better long term investment, **IF** it would also do the trick on 'em.

Thoughts ?????

scottg28

Nov 4, 2003
Illinois
Visit site
I am no expert on compound miter saws, but I can't see an easy way to rip 2x6 with one, at least not the $300 - $400 I have seen. I bought this from sears for $129 about 15 months ago:

Craftsman 10 in. Table Saw, Benchtop

Features direct drive, 15 amp, 2-7/10 hp, a 36 tooth carbide tipped blade, standard arbor, 3 in. maximum cut depth and a 45 and 90 degree bevel index. Rip capacity to right 24 in., left 10-7/8 in

It has been a real workhorse for me, and I have ripped quite a bit of lumber. The only problem I have encountered is, if you choose not to anchor it to floor, you need to get it on a level surface and even then if you have a tough rip in wetter wood it may want to buck if you go a little too fast. I scavanged so concrete form 2x10 which I will someday use to build the majority of my benchwork and did a test rip to create 5 - 2x2 (well sort of almost 2x2s) but it did fine and this was a 12 ft board.