Table/Other Advice

Clark A.

Nov 9, 2004
Garden City, Michigan
Well, I've been thinking more about planning lately and some of the problems I will run into.:eek:

I am an amateur and simply cannot attempt to build a table or anything like that. I will need some kind of premade table for cheap that is large, or a collection of tables. I would say my layout should be fairly large however. Its length will be about double the width. I am intrigued by an old plan proposed by cidchase last year. Id like this or something with a similar idea.;)

I'd like to have at least two towns. One fairly large, and one small. I'd like a passenger service between them and an industry with transit between them. What industries would be ideal? :confused:

The time I'd like is either the present, or the 1930s/40s. The setting I'd like is midwest.

Thanks!:p

This is the plan I like.

attachment.php

Drew1125

Jan 28, 2001
I like the plan, Clark! :thumb:

You might, however, give some thought to some more switching possibilities in the mine, & town areas...?

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
Clark A.:

Benchwork is not as complicated as you might think. If you are hesitating because you are not a master carpenter, then don't! It is not too difficult to do. You can pretty much make everything you need in a variety of ways:

- Get the lumber yard to do most of the cutting
- Get yourself a cut-off (mitre) saw and use dimensional lumber (like 1x4)
- Get a table saw and plywood to make whatever size lumber you need. For this option, you will also need a buddy to help you cut the 4x8 sheet down to size...!

Pretty much all benchwork can be assembled with screws & glue. You will need a drill/driver (or really strong hands/arms) and some C-clamps.

If you don't have the space for a "workshop" to do all this cutting and assembly, there are pre-fab benchwork "modules" available.

Hope that helps.

Andrew

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site