Switch Problems

Trainman Dan

Im new to model railroading, adding two switches to my layout. I'm using MTH realtrax 0-31 switches. The problem is the train will operate only on the part of the track the power is connected to, but once it reaches a switch, it shuts down and wont move. I have checked and rechecked the instructions, but it all looks right. Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?? If you look under the track, it appears that one of the brass connectors on the outside rail is not there as it is on all my other tracks. Is this right because its a switch? Probibly dumb question, but gotta start somewhere... Thanks!

shamus

Registered Member
Hi Trainman Dan
When you refer to two switches are you refering to Double pole Double Throw switches?

[This message has been edited by shamus (edited 03-28-2001).]

Virginian

Hi Dan, wecome aboard!
Are you maybe talkin' 'bout Turnout switches?
I'm a newbee too, but have learned that, to model railroaders, switches are what change the direction of elec. current, 'turnouts change the direction of trains. I'm sorry I don't know enough to help much, but I'm sure once you clarify, you'll get all the help you need ! I am suspecting that is is a wiring problem, though...sounds like a short is occuring when your loco hits the other side of that turnout...have you a ModelRR wiring book? Atlas publishes a pretty simple one for us beginners..If not, I'm sure shamus will be able to guide you...get your track plan ready
biggrin.gif

Good Luck
Virginian
cool.gif

[This message has been edited by Virginian (edited 03-27-2001).]

Trainman Dan