Suspended track

Dougrl

May 1, 2003
Saskatoon, Sask.
Visit site
HI, I'm very new at this type of track and the hobby of railroading. I am building a G-scale system in my sun room and I think that I have most of it figured out, except the brackets on the wall that hold the track up. I have cut the ties, made the radius corners 36" and have the bed cut out for the ties to sit on. The rails, spikes are waiting. this will be about 12" from the ceiling, one bridge, and one 8' tressle from steel channel.and 6 or 7 hanging brackets in the corners and across an open ceiling at one end of the room. But the wall brackets have me in a stew. how heavy should the bracket be, come down from thr top or come up from the bottom?? I was planning on making these from wood {oak} and I think that they will be about 8" out from the wall as I want to put a street lite to scale on each bracket that sticks out and keep the train 2" from the wall. I have found suspended tracks that you can buy but that did not help much. Sorry for the long winded story but I'm stuck. Cheers Doug.:confused:

Pooh Bah
Mar 25, 2002
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Visit site
Suspension of disbelief

Doug:
Can't advise you myself, but check various posts from N gauger. (Don't let the name fool you - he seems to be involved with G and larger these days.) I think he's posted some pictures of his tracks.

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site